Diego Balli, Stans
Constructed by mountain railway pioneers, the electric-powered funicular railway to the Stanserhorn was opened in 1893. The train continues to run on the original first section today. This and its long history were reason enough for a special stamp to mark its 125th anniversary.
125 years ago, it was possible to reach the 1,850-metre-high Stanserhorn starting from Stans, in a journey with a maximum gradient of 63 percent in three sections and a time of more than 45 minutes. The railway’s clasp brakes were the first of their kind in the world. They ensure that the carriage automatically clamps to the track if the cable snaps. This revolutionary system is still in operation today and has since been copied many times. The second and third sections were replaced by a cable car in 1975, which was in turn superseded by the CabriO cable car in 2012 – another world premiere. This unique combination of nostalgia and 21st-century technology is also found on the sheetlet designed by Diego Balli. The Stans-based designer took inspiration from vintage Swiss tourism posters with their bright, fresh colours. The combination of graphic and scenic creation presents a view that does not exist in reality but which reflects impressions of a journey to the Stanserhorn in compressed format.